top of page
  • Writer's pictureMokshil Shah

Model United Nations (MUN) - (C)

Updated: Nov 7, 2019

CAS Learning Outcomes:

1. Identify own strengths and develop areas for growth

2. Demonstrate that challenges have been undertaken, developing new skills in the process

5: Demonstrate the skills and recognise the benefits of working collaboratively

6: Demonstrate engagement with issues of global significance


On Sunday, October 14th, 2018, we, Wells International School, held our fourth annual Model United Nations (MUN). WISMUN IV had over 200 students from 15 other international schools and I was extremely honoured to be a part of it as it was my first MUN conference. I entered as the Delegate of Iraq in the DISEC (Disarmament & International Security Committee) Committee. I started with my position speech, as the other delegates, and then gave my speech which showcased my stance on the topic. I then worked collaboratively with other delegates to come up with a powerful resolution. Although our resolution didn't acquire the most votes, we still had a great experience as we gained significant knowledge through learning. I recognized that I was really good at coming up with solutions and resolutions, however, my public speaking skills need tremendous improvement as I was extremely nervous. Nevertheless, towards the end I overcame that fear and gave a very influential speech that attracted the audience. Overall, it was a meaningful experience as we discussed global issues and tried to come up with solutions while working collaboratively. It also enhanced my public speaking skills and strengthened my courage.



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page